Tags

, , , ,

“Okay, I’ve got to go. Mom’s calling. She has cooked roast chicken for dinner. Smelling good! What did you have?”

“Nothing.”

“What do you mean by nothing? It’s almost twelve. Will you ever learn to eat on time?!”

“Look who’s talking! I’m broke, love.”

“But.. what about the money Sid had lent you yesterday? How did you finish two thousand rupees so quickly?”

“Um, I forgot to tell you about this. Yesterday night, while returning from work, I saw some beggars sleeping on the footpath, shivering with cold. Their clothes were in tatters. It was so sad. So I bought some blankets with the same money & gave it to them. Poor people. They don’t even have proper clothes to combat the cold…”

What will I do with this boy? I let out an exasperated sigh as he went on rambling about the plight of the beggars. I wasn’t even listening to him.

The pain of the beggars mattered a lot to him, but for me, the thought of him sleeping hungry stung more. Ever since he had shifted to another city for his work, he had become careless about his health & slept on an empty stomach frequently. Yes, maybe I was blinded by my love for him. He was the most beautiful person I had ever known, after all. His kindness, generosity & his beautiful soul was what had attracted my soul to his. No, I could never be as selfless as him and that made him a much better person than me. The reason I loved him silly. But his generosity was exceeding to a quixotic level now, driving me nuts.

“…please say something. I won’t do such things henceforth,” he pleaded in a timid voice.

“Hmm.”

“Don’t you dare skip your dinner because of me. Swear on me that you’ll eat.”

I’d truly received more than what I had wished for. I couldn’t help but smile.

“Why don’t you say something? Are you angry, love?”

“Don’t you think you are a little too talkative?”

I could sense his charming crooked smile at the other end of the receiver.

“You know I can’t remain angry with you for long. But, I’m just wondering whether we would have any blankets left in our home, if I marry you,” I chuckled.

He laughed.

~ K@

