Tags

, , , , , ,

“There’s no light in this world that can destroy me,” a demon said and smirked at me. The demon wore anxiety and depression like his armour.

I had nothing to say, because all this while, everyone had proved the demon right.

So, every night, I would sit in the corner of my room, crying. And the only person there, always with and for me, was the demon. 

Then one day, my eyes fell on you. I noticed how you were laughing and giggling with your friends. And in that moment, I aspired to be like you; to just get lost in a moment and enjoy it while it lasts.

I remember how I thought the best day of my life was when you had initiated a conversation with me. You talked to me, and in you, I saw a faithful friend. You shared my sorrows, made my insecurities go away, and with that, you made my demon crawl away from me.

So now, instead of sitting in a corner and crying, I actually sleep peacefully at night. Instead of skipping meals, I eat whatever I wish to. Instead of laying in my bed and mulling over whether I should go out or not, I actually go out.

I started hanging out with you. I could feel that it made me more confident day by day. It definitely was a good feeling.

People told me that it made them happy seeing how I changed myself. They appreciated that I made this effort, and this made me ecstatic.

But one day, I realised that you found all my stories insipid. I didn’t want to lose a friend like you, so I ignored that and moved on. In each moment that I spent with you after that, it felt like impaling myself, because in that short time, you showed me that side of me which I thought wasn’t even there; and I was afraid of losing it.

And then, the fears that were disguised as happiness, came true; you left me to be on my own. And that day, I realised that even friends can break your heart and make you feel miserable.

So, that night I lay awake, and from the corner of my eye, I saw the demon crawling back towards me. He patted my back and stayed there with me, as he used to. All the insecurities came back, whispering that they missed me.

But one thing changed. Earlier, I used to get scared of him. But from that day, I started embracing him. 

How can you not appreciate someone who’s there for you, when everyone leaves you alone?

“Indeed, there’s no light that can destroy you, except that of my own self. And I want you to stay,” I murmured to the demon, while he smiled at me and winked.

“Always,” he said.

~ K@

