Tags

, , , , ,

Will you open the door

if I come knocking tonight?

Itโ€™s been a while Iโ€™ve searched

for peace, for innocence,

for an open door and for hope. 

But as long as there is life in

my weak, fragile bones

Iโ€™ll keep coming back

here in this lane, 

on this address

Iโ€™ll keep knocking your door.

Will you look into my eyes 

if I look into the peephole?

Will your blind eyes recognise

The dried tears that once meant an ocean 

And now just a long forgotten scar?

Itโ€™s been a while I stopped 

Looking

For eyes as animated as yours 

For a red dress and white scarf, 

And for affection. 

But as long as there is light 

In my old, wrinkled eyes

Iโ€™ll keep coming back

Here at your door, 

Every single night

Iโ€™ll keep looking for you.

Will you hear my whispers?

My sound, my pleading and my legend?

Will your deaf ears distinguish 

The cries of a long-suffering boy 

Beneath all the pride and crudity 

Of a grown, ruined man?

Itโ€™s been a while I stopped 

Telling

The history of my disappointment,

The glory of my love, 

And the story of my teenage.

But as long as there is clatter

In my hollow, broken voice

Iโ€™ll keep coming back

Here at your door,

 Every single life.

Iโ€™ll keep telling our storyโ€ฆo Dearโ€ฆ

Till you lookโ€ฆtill you hearโ€ฆ

Till the door opens.

Will you open the door

if I come knocking tonight?

~K@

