Tags

, , , , ,

​


As days passed by, I had realised,

What Daddy said was mostly right.

The rebellion raging in my blood

Had vanquished – When reality struck;

Big dreams with baseless hopes,

Roaring against my Papa’s words;

He sounded bitter and backward,

Foolish I was to abandon his wisdom;

Won’t do what I was asked to do,

Determined to swim against his sayings.

I ran – thinking I would make a big name;

I tried and tested whatever I dreamt.

When sandals screeched, when face deterred,

I had second thoughts on what he uttered.

Reluctantly ignoring his words again,

Unwilling to bow down even when I failed.

But failure struck my path again;

Nothing availed, nothing I gained;

Broken back, bent spine;

I went to his feet and I cried;

All rebellion lay cold and calm,

All my cloudy thoughts lay dead.

And as days passed I had realised,

What Daddy said was mostly right.

~ K@MMY1431

